Electrophysiology Fellowship Program

Duration: 1-2 year Fellowship

Site: Royal Jubilee Hospital and Pulse Complete Cardiac Care – Victoria, British Columbia

Program Directors: Dr. Michel Thibert and Dr. Martin van Zyl

Preceptors: Dr. Richard Leather, Dr. Paul Novak, Dr. Markus Sikkel, Dr. Laurence Sterns

As a part of the University of British Columbia Cardiac Electrophysiology Program, we are proud to offer a two year Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship training and experience through the Royal Jubilee Hospital, our affiliated office (Pulse Complete Cardiac Care), and our links with the University of BC and the University of Victoria. Applicants with previous electrophysiology training may apply for a one-year Fellowship.

Our physicians have trained EP Fellows from around the world since 1996. Please see the Past EP Fellows list below for details. Currently, our Electrophysiologists are Dr Richard Leather (Adult Heart Rhythm Specialist with the BC Inherited Arrhythmias Program), Dr Paul Novak, Dr Markus Sikkel (head of Cardiac Research at the Royal Jubilee Hospital), Dr Laurence Sterns (Past President of the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society), Dr. Michael Thibert (Co-Director of the BC Electrophysiology program) and Dr. Martin van Zyl (Co-Director of the BC Electrophysiology program).

Upon completion of the training, the fellow will be proficient in assessing and managing simple and complex arrhythmias including SVT, atrial fibrillation, typical and atypical flutter, and ventricular tachycardia. Fellows will gain competence in implanting simple and complex devices including basic pacemakers, conduction system pacing, ICDs, and biventricular devices. Exposure will be given to subcutaneous ICDs (S-ICD), leadless pacemakers, and left atrial appendage occlusion. Fellows will gain competence in catheter ablation using radiographic guidance +/- 3D electroanatomic mapping for AV node ablation, SVT ablation and typical atrial flutter. By the end of their fellowship, they will be competent in complex ablation including atrial fibrillation ablation using RF and cryoablation energies, atypical atrial flutter ablation, PVC ablation and VT ablation including with ICE guidance. There will be exposure to ethanol ablation of the vein of Marshall and ventricular regions that are difficult to access with conventional techniques as well as epicardial RF ablation..

In addition, EP Fellows participate in clinical research, hospital clinical and educational rounds, provincial EP journal club sessions, cardiogenetic clinics with Dr Richard Leather, and cardiology research conferences such as the Canadian Cardiovascular Conference, Heart Rhythm, and American Heart Association Scientific Sessions.


  • By the end of the fellowship, the fellow will be expected to have gained the knowledge and skill to function as an independent consultant electrophysiologist.
  • Fellows will have procedure volumes to be independent in basic pacing, conduction system pacing, defibrillator implants, and biventricular device implants. Fellows will have the opportunity to gain volumes to be independent in S-ICD and leadless pacemaker implants. Exposure also given to complex pacing skills including venoplasty and snaring.
  • Fellows will have procedure volumes to be independent in SVT ablation, typical atrial flutter ablation, atrial fibrillation ablation using RF and cryoablation, complex PVC ablation, and endocardial VT ablation.
  • Present complex device and ablation cases at weekly teaching rounds.
  • One presentation at a national meeting and one manuscript will be the minimum research requirement.


  • 12 to 24 months of clinical electrophysiology depending on the fellowship duration.
  • Diverse experience including inpatient and outpatient consultations in addition to procedure time.


  • Opportunities for a clinical research project will be selected by each fellow with the guidance of the Program Directors and Fellowship Preceptors.
  • Presentation at 1 national research conference is required, funding for presentation is available through the program and the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society.

Minimum Requirements for EP Fellowship Application:

  1. Detailed Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  2. Minimum of 3 signed and dated letters of reference.
  3. Medical degree.
  4. Specialty Training certification in Cardiology (equivalent to the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons; examples include the Certification of Specialist Training or CCST in the UK, and American Board Certification in the USA).
  5. Proficiency in English, as demonstrated through completion of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or through interview.
  6. Successful applicants will be required to register with the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society as Members-in-Training at no charge.

Application Process:

APPLICATIONS ARE CLOSED UNTIL SUMMER 2025. Interested applicants are asked to inquire via the Contact Us page. 

More information can be found on the University of British Columbia’s Subspecialty Fellowship Programs website.

Past EP Fellows
EP Fellow Fellowship Period Destination
Dr Jovita Dwivedi 2023-2024 Brisbane, Australia
Dr Ojas Mehta 2022-2023 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Amit Sodhi 2021-2022 Kelowna, British Columbia
Dr Adam Graham 2021-2022 London, UK
Dr Ivan Subiakto 2019-2020 Wollongong, Australia
Dr Markus Sikkel 2017-2018 Victoria, British Columbia (VCAT)
Dr Matthew Tung 2015-2017 Birtinya, Australia
Dr Hari Sugumar 2015-2016 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Hoda Sobh 2014-2014 Mansoura, Egypt
Dr Kin Wah Chee 2012-2014 Buderim, Australia
Dr Christine Franzini 2012-2014 Zurich, Switzerland
Dr Stewart Healy 2012-2014 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Deepak Arumugam 2011-2013 Brisbane, Australia
Dr Lars Karlsson 2011-2013 Gothenburg, Sweden
Dr Paul Scott 2011-2012 London, UK
Dr Mohammed Amin 2010-2012 Manama, Kingdom of Bahrain
Dr Andrew Ha 2010-2012 Mississauga, Ontario
Dr Logan Bittinger 2010-2011 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Sharad Agarwal 2009-2011 Cambridge, UK
Dr Nicholas Cromie 2009-2010 Belfast, UK
Dr Romeo Ayou 2008-2010 Skovde, Sweden
Dr Omar Sultan 2008-2010 Winnipeg, Manitoba; Regina, Saskatchewan
Dr Michael Jones 2006-2008 Oxford, UK; Southbank, Australia
Dr Dimitrios Lypourlis 2006-2008 Adelaide, Australia
Dr Evan Lockwood 2005-2007 Edmonton, Alberta
Dr Laurent Haegeli 2005-2007 Zurich, Switzerland
Dr David Adams 2004-2006 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Emily Kotschet 2003-2005 Melbourne, Australia
Dr Geoffrey Trim 2002-2004 Sunshine Coast, Australia; Gold Coast, Australia
Dr Alfredo Pantano 2000-2003 Edmonton, Alberta; Newmarket, Ontario
Dr Mario Badra 1998-2000 Cordoba, Argentina
Dr Hugo Garro 1998-1999 Buenos Aires, Argentina
Dr Andrés Caeiro 1996-1998 Cordoba, Argentina